top of page



  • Abhedya: Something that cannot be hurt/ pierced

  • Airavat: Name of a celestial white elephant; Mount of Indra

  • Adharma: Unrighteousness; Not following Dharma

  • Akshauhini: A unit of measuring an army; Includes thousands of chariots, elephants, horses, warriors and more

  • Amravati: Sacred city in Indralok i.e. heaven

  • Amrut: Nectar that grant immortality to those who consume it

  • Ansh avtar: Incarnation of a divine part of the Lord; Incarnation with some divine qualities of the Lord

  • Apsara: Celestial nymph

  • Aryavart: Land of the Aryans; Used to describe the Indian Subcontinent in traditional scriptures

  • Astra: Weapon

  • Asur: Simply put, demons

  • Avtar: Incarnation


  • Bal: Baby; Little; Term of endearment

  • Bhakta: Devotee

  • Bhasma: Ash

  • Brahman: Clan of priests and teachers


  • Chakravarti Samrat: A title given to a king who has the allegiance of a minimum of 100 kings

  • Chakravyuha: A complex war formation that is constantly changing

  • Charitra: Story of one's life

  • Chiranjeev: Immortal

  • Chiranjeevi Bhava: May you be immortal


  • Devghar: A small temple at home; Place of worship at home

  • Devi: Goddess

  • Dhanvantari: God of medicine

  • Dharma: Way of living; Law of the world; Law of the cosmos

  • Dwapar Yug: The third out of four Yug


  • Gandharva: An artist from heaven

  • Gandiv: Name of Arjun's mighty bow

  • Ghee: Clarified butter

  • Gop: (males) Cowherd

  • Gopi: (females)Cowherd

  • Guru: Teacher

  • Gurubhakta: A person who has absolute faith in one's teacher

  • Gurudakshina: Acknowledgement (repayment) of the Guru's teachings in any terms that the guru deems suitable

  • Gurukul: A school system where the students stay with the teacher till the time their education is complete


  • Haran: Kidnap

  • Haridhanu: The bow of Vishnu


  • Kali Yug: The fourth of the four Yug

  • Kalpataru: a.k.a. Kalpavruksha; Wishing tree

  • Kamadhenu: The cow that grants people whatever they wish for with all their hearts

  • Karma: Deed

  • Kashi: A small city in India

  • Kaurav: Descendants of the Kuru clan of ancient India

  • Kavach-Kundal: Armour and earrings; Usually refer to the gold armour and earrings that Karna was born with

  • Kshatriya: Warrior clan

  • Kshirsagar: Ocean of milk; Abode of Lord Vishnu


  • Lakshagruha: House made out of lacquer

  • Lanka: An island south of India


  • Maa: Mother

  • Mai: Mother

  • Mahabharat: One of the main Sanskrit epics of India

  • Mahapralay: Apocalypse

  • Maharathi: A great, skilled warrior

  • Mantra: Spell

  • Mara: Attack

  • Mardan: To crush

  • Mardini: The slayer

  • Maya: Illusion 

  • Mayasabha: Illusionary court

  • Mayavi: One with illusion

  • Mrutyu: Death


  • Naag: Snake(s)

  • Naagraj: King of snakes

  • Naam: Name

  • Narayanastra: Weapon of Lord Narayan i.e. Vishnu

  • Nash: End


  • Paduka: A type of footwear, ancient

  • Pandav: The five sons of King Pandu

  • Parshu: An axe

  • Parvat: Mountain

  • Patal: Underworld; a.k.a. Patallok

  • Patallokvasi: One who stays in Patal

  • Pitamah: The great father

  • Pohe: Flattened rice flakes

  • Pralay: The end of an era; Apocalypse

  • Pran: Spirit; Soul; Life

  • Pratigya: Oath

  • Purnavtar: Incarnation of the complete divine entity

  • Pushpak Viman: An airplane named Pushpak


  • Raag: A chapter in Indian Classical Music, which has a particular style, adheres to certain rules like time of the day, and more, and has compositions within a certain framework

  • Rajasuya yagya: a ritual of consecration of a king

  • Rakshas: Demon clans

  • Rakshasi: (female) Demons

  • Ramayan: One of the main Sanskrit epics of India

  • Rambhakta: A devotee of Lord Ram

  • Rishi: Sage

  • Rudra: Different forms of Shiva; also used as an adjective to describe the most fearsome avtar of any god


  • Samadhi: A state of intense concentration which ultimately leads to the death of the person, and the union of the soul with the Lord

  • Samudra Manthan: Samudra means ocean, Manthan means churning

  • Sanskrit: An ancient Indian language

  • Sati: To jump in fire, and lose life

  • Satya Yug: The first of the four Yug

  • Setu: Bridge

  • Shakti: Power

  • Shakti Peeth: Places where Shakti resides

  • Shaligram: A fossilised shell that symbolises Lord Vishnu and Lord Shiva

  • Shastra: Study of different subjects

  • Shishya: Student

  • Shlok: A small verse, often poetic, describing the beauty and qualities of God

  • Stotra: A hymn praising the Lord

  • Stuti: A poem composed to appreciate all the different qualities of the Lord

  • Sudarshan chakra: The disc weapon of Vishnu

  • Sura: Alcohol

  • Swayamvar: An old practice of choosing a husband from many suitors. May or may not have some task for the suitors to fulfil in order to win the bride's hand


  • Tandav Nritya: A form of divine dance

  • Tara: Star

  • Tathastu: "And so it shall be"

  • Treta Yug: The second of the four Yug

  • Trilok: Three worlds i.e. Heaven, Earth, Underworld

  • Trishul: Trident


  • Ucchaishrava: Celestial flying horse

  • Upapandav: The five sons of the Pandav

  • Uparna: A traditional embroidered scarf or shawl


  • Vahan: Carriage, means of transport; Mount

  • Van: Forest

  • Vanar: Monkey

  • Vanar sena: An army of monkeys

  • Vanvas: Staying in the forest; usually in exile

  • Varunpasha: Weapon of lasso of water

  • Vastraharan: Disrobing 

  • Vayuputra: "Vayu" means wind, "Putra" means son; Son of the Wind God

  • Vajra: The thunderbolt used by Indra as a weapon

  • Vasant Ritu: Spring season

  • Ved: Ancient Indian scriptures; Body of knowledge on a number of subjects

  • Veer: Brave

  • Vishwajeet Yadnya: Yadnya performed after the victory of a king in war

  • Vrat: A religious practice that is goal-driven and specific

  • Vyuha: Formation


  • Yadnya/ Yagya: Ritual where a deity is worshipped in the presence of a ceremonial fire

  • Yaksha: Spirits that rule and protect nature

  • Yug: Era

  • Yuvraj: Crowned Prince; Future King

bottom of page